About Artists’ Rapid Response Team

ARRT! (Artists’ Rapid Response Team) collaborates with 60+ non-profit, progressive groups to promote social change in Maine. This collective of approximately twelve artists meets monthly to create issue-oriented, socially-engaged banners and props. Grants have enabled us to pay artists stipends, making us engaged activists, able to reconcile sophisticated aesthetic goals with political objectives, while collaborating with diverse artists and non-artists alike.

Activist groups that are too small, understaffed or underfunded to be able to hire consultants appreciate how rapidly we can respond to the issues that arise and love the media attention and excitement that our banners generate for them. We provide a visual voice for their message. We make complex issues visible on the street and we look forward to helping these groups disseminate their images through social media.

Some of the groups we have worked with include:

  • Preble Street Resource Center,
  • MaineAllCare,
  • Alliance for the Common Good,
  • 350 Maine,
  • Maine People’s Alliance,
  • Natural Resources Council of Maine,
  • Equality Maine
  • Thanks but No Tanks,
  • Move to Amend,
  • Maine Inside Out
  • Maine Citizens for Clean Elections,
  • Immigrant Rights Coalition of Maine
  • Global Network Against Weapons in Space,
  • States United Against Gun Violence,
  • Maine Citizens Against Hand Gun Violence,
  • March against Monsanto,
  • NAACP,
  • National Alliance on Mental Illness,
  • Southern Maine Workers’ Center,
  • Maine State Nurses’ Association,
  • Maine Fair Trade Campaign,
  • Defending Water for Life,
  • Community Water Justice.
The Broad Reach Fund of the Maine Community Foundation helps support the work of ARRT!

The Broad Reach Fund of the Maine Community Foundation helps support the work of ARRT!

ARRT! members include:

  • Nora Tryon,
  • Anita Clearfield,
  • Suzanna Lasker,
  • Nikki Millonzi,
  • Richard Brown Lethem,
  • Christine Higgins,
  • Natasha Mayers,
  • Doreen Conboy,
  • Ed McCartan,
  • Karen Wainberg,
  • Lee Chisholm,
  • Jean Noon,
  • Mary Becker Weiss,
  • Jane Page-Conway,
  • Robin Huntley
  • Anna Seigel
  • Deb Fahy
  • Renu O’Connell
  • and Valerie Porter.